Alert – Backup Exec doesn’t follow policy – will actually fill your disks!

Hi all,

Just figured this out.  I have been in a hurry lately, and while working with Backup Exec I have had to keep adding disk as I added hosts.  I did change the policy to retain only 1 week.  I am not backing up production data but just protecting my work so no big deal.  But with only three or four hosts and not much of a change rate on them, I had attached a number of drives for Storage and they were all full.  I had added the following disk:

  • 400 GB
  • 750 GB
  • 600 GB
  • 600 GB
  • 400 GB
  • 400 GB

I was always in a hurry and it is so easy to add a new Storage repository and any of the jobs could use it right away.  So very flexible.  But yesterday when they ran out of storage again, I was a little irritated.  And I did not really want to add more storage since I was down to two hosts now.  I also noticed that when I deleted the other hosts that it did not clear up any space.

So basically it looked like the policy’s were not working.  Meaning backup jobs older then my policy were not being cleared.

So a little Google Fu confirmed that between 2012 and 2014 of Backup Exec this occurred.  Meaning by default BE 2014 doesn’t delete any jobs that fall outside of your policy.  So it was not surprising that I was always filling my storage.

I did learn you could change this behavior using a switch in the Settings.

Start by clicking on the Yellow thing in the top left corner, then select Configuration and Settings, followed by Backup Exec Settings – as seen below.

SettingsChange1

Then you should select the Storage Option.

SettingsChange

Now in Data Management you see the option – Allow Backup Exec to delete all expired backup sets.  I have enabled it and am using it.

However, it is important to understand that once this option is enabled, you could if you have odd schedules or outages, end up with nothing to restore.  I think the odds are small of this happening but it is possible.  Since it deletes everything outside of your policy – once enabled, if you miss backups (lots) and time goes by and the policy says to delete it will even if it is the last job!

I understand in BE 2012 there was an option to say to not delete your last job.  That would be nice here too!

BTW, once you enable this option – like I did, all of your storage repositories will still look full.  I had to do something else.

Change to the Storage view.

Highlight all of your storage repositories, and select Inventory \ Inventory Now.

SpaceChange

Once you do that your storage will reflect the proper usage.

I suggest you schedule the Inventory so you don’t have to do it manually again.

I hope that this helps with your usage of BE.  It certainly helps with mine!

Michael

=== END ===

Tagged with:
Posted in Alert, How To

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: